This week…

I’m running the five mile Turkey Trot. This has been a fitness goal of mine since I had Elijah. I love this race. The distance, the cool weather, and the starting line just a short drive from my front door make it my favorite road race.

Having this annual race on my mental calendar helped motivate me postpartum.

Two weeks ago, I went to the dermatologist to have another biopsy taken from a “moderately abnormal mole”. They took the mole a month ago and were ready to go back bigger and deeper. I have had this done so many times that I figured I would be able to run through the healing. Nope. Once the numbing meds wore off, I was in a lot of pain. I couldn’t sleep. Two nights of parent/teacher conferences and being on my feet extra long added to the discomfort.

I know the pain was a small price to pay for the clean bill of health I received. I know. I know.

However, I’m still bummed I haven’t been able to run. The first biopsy took me out for two weeks while those stitches healed and now another two weeks set me within days of the race.

John took my stitches out last night, and I hope to lace up my tennis shoes before Saturday morning. This race is 100% relying on

Mind

(over)

Matter

4 thoughts on “This week…

Leave a Reply

