Lately I’ve Been…

Drinking lots of fall flavored coffee. I recently purchased Starbucks Pumpkin Kcups with flavor pods. I first heard of these flavor pods from my college housemate Lindsay, but I hadn’t seen any in our stores (she lives in Texas) until recently. I like black coffee with a flavor syrup better, but these are good change. They taste more like a latte.

Listening to Tuesdays with Morrie by Mitch Albom on audiobook through the app Overdrive. It’s a free app that links to your library and uses your library card information to give you instant downloads. This app is used by libraries around the country. Search the app to see if your library supports this resource. Have you read Tuesdays with Morrie? It reminds me of The Last Lecture by Randy Pausch and Jeffrey Zaslow. I definitely recommend it.

Feeling excited about the upcoming weekend away with John. We’re off to South Bend to cheer on the Irish.

Worrying about my ITEC presentation. The start of the school year hasn’t left much time for extra projects. I need a weekend that includes a chunk of time to sit down and plan out how I want this presentation to look. It’s important to do a good job so the people in my session walk away feeling excited about some new tools they can use in their classrooms.

Cooking soups. We didn’t wait for the weather to cool down before we broke out the crockpot. So far we’ve had beef stew and chicken noodle soup. Next up, chili.

Watching Friday Night Lights on Netflix. John and I have been on and off with this show for two years. It’s made by the same producers of Parenthood (the best!), and it’s perfect for football season. If you haven’t seen Parenthood on Netflix, make it your winter show. If you have and you loved it as much as we did, Friday Night Lights is next for you.

Reading It Ends with Us by Colleen Hoover. This YA book is getting great reviews from friends on goodreads.com. I hope to finish it over the weekend. Hello, long car ride!

Buying Lou and Grey everything from Loft. Winter doesn’t scare me as much with their signaturesoft collection.

What are you drinking, listening, feeling, worrying, cooking, watching, reading, buying?

7 thoughts on “Lately I’ve Been…

  1. Drinking: Vanilla Latte, SmartWater, Sunkist
    Listening: *itch Sesh (2 females talk about any of the Bravo’s Housewives show after it airs. Because watching it isn’t enough.)
    Feeling: OVER THE MOON! With graduating, presenting with J at ITEC, and I was accepted to review books for the School Library Journal today…I AM HAPPY!
    Worrying: When will the other shoe drop?
    Cooking: Shrimp with rice, anything with pasta
    Watching: Scandal, Vice Principals on HBO, anything Bravo
    Reading: Just finished The Girl with the Lower Back Tattoo, started Stealing Indians and The Light Fantastic
    Buying: Vaca clothes!

  2. Drinking: Water…. boring, but I’m trying to keep my intake up with this humid weather. I’ve dropped coffee from my daily routine (indulge on the weekends!)
    Listening: Mom Struggling Well Podcast- she interviews women on life. I love listening to her questions, she makes jokes, she’s so real. Love it.
    Feeling: Like I’m in a groove. School is going well for Zach. I’ve met a few moms. Hopeful that this creates long lasting and positive relationships.
    Worrying: Food allergies. Always- but I’ve been extra anxious since moving- new stores, new school, new restaurant.
    Cooking: My go to lunch is made with Just Sriracha Mayo… life giving.
    Watching: (We watched FNL when we moved to Texas; I love it!). Flip or Flop on the weekends, my Housewives during the week. I’ve caught a couple episodes of The View this week and it’s still crashing and burning 😉
    Reading: The Girl Who Fell From the Sky…. on Overdrive!!! Seriously, it’s letting me read so much. If I can squeeze in 3 tiny pages, I feel accomplished. I would not feel the same if I had to keep reading the same page over and over again. Plus, I can read while Zach is trying to fall asleep. He likes us next to him, but doesn’t want to be cuddled or his back rubbed… so I lay and read on my phone. It’s working out well for me 🙂
    Buying: New running shoes!!!! Planning a 10k in Nov. It’ll be a struggle, but I’ve got some motivation now and my knee doesn’t hurt anymore. It’s been way overdue. (two new running outfits, too!)

    have a fun weekend getaway!!!

      • FL weather is worse!! SO HUMID! I never visited the Texas coast, so that may compare. I am sure it will be much better when winter comes… it always was at Christmas time. I’m afraid I will miss boots and jeans and sweaters. Only two seasons they say- rainy or dry. 😦 Tony has been looking at calendars. Planning a Naples one in January. He wanted to do San Fransisco two years ago, but we had Morgan. Thinking about it again- but would love to do it with others and make it a fun family vacation. So who knows?! Definitely want to keep races scheduled…. it’s the only motivator sometimes 😉

  3. Drinking: coffee with white chocolate raspberry creamer. My “go to” every morning! Oktoberfest. Something about fall evenings and football that make me crave this brew.

    Listening: Everybod’s Got Something podcast. I started it today on my run…the verdict is still out.

    Feeling: at peace. The transition this school year (as you know) has been a roller coaster of emotions. I can’t help but feel at peace when I’m sitting on the couch with my sleeping daughter in my arms and toddler laying beside me, and husband in the kitchen 😊

    Worrying: getting myself organized at work. The piles of stuff are endless.

    Cooking: new recipes. With the day’s getting shorter, I’ve broken out the crockpots and a few new recipes.

    Watching: currently, Thomas the Train. Clearly not by choice. 👦🏼🚂 I’m ready for fall shows to come back. Did you watch This is Us last night?

    Reading: immunization records…a lot of them! ☺️

    Buying: I just bought a Cork n Canvas night with my neighbor at the brewery. With my lack of artistic ability, this could be interesting!

Leave a Reply

