What Does Your Story Say?

1999475A Million Miles in a Thousand Years by Donald Miller

Thanks to Megan, one of my past students, for recommending this thought-provoking book. It started off slow, but I quickly found myself with many dog-eared pages. These are the quotes that stood out to me, and I want to continue to reflect over them as I write the story of my own life.

“The stories we tell ourselves are very different from the stories we tell the world.”

“I started feeling like a better character, and when you are a better character, your story gets better too.”

“If you want to know what a person’s story is about, just ask them what they want.” I’ve also heard people say, “If you want to know what someone values, ask them where they spend their money.”

“The story made us different characters than we would have been if we had skipped the story and showed up at the ending an easier way.” Wow! Yes. I thought about Elijah and about marathon training while reading this section. Both of my examples are so different, but they remind me of the extra appreciation you feel when the journey is anything but smooth.

“You become like the people you interact with. And if your friends are living boring stories, you probably will too.” Reminded me of one of my previous posts.

“The whole point of the story is the character arc. You didn’t think joy could change a person, did you? Joy is what you feel when the conflict is over. But it’s conflict that changes a person.” “Put your characters through hell. You put them through hell. That’s the only way we change.”

The story of Job and stories about suffering. “Before we get started, there is this one thing I have to tell you. Things are going to get bad.”

Friday Night Lights: “It wasn’t necessary to win for the story to be great, it was only necessary to sacrifice everything.”

“A good storyteller doesn’t just tell a better story, though. He invites other people into the story with him, giving them a better story too.” “When you ask for help, you are asking other people into the story with you, so it’s no longer yours, it belongs to the community that believed in it with you.” 

Leave a Reply

