Monaghan Reunion: Ireland

img_3362

This post goes out to my family members currently in Ireland for a Monaghan reunion. My aunts, uncles, cousins, parents, and one of two brothers are exploring our heritage in and around County Monaghan, Ireland.

When we found out we were expecting Elijah, we told my parents we had good news and bad news. The good news was another grandchild. The bad news was that we would not be traveling to Ireland and leaving a two month old back home. My older brother and his wife are expecting baby number two next month, so they were out, too. 

Thankfully technology has helped me feel a part of their experience. Matt brings me along on his adventures through Snapchat, and Elijah and I Facetimed the family yesterday who were a few pints deep. They passed the phone around the pub for everyone to say “hello”, and it made my heart so happy to see this crazy idea of a family trip to Ireland become a reality.

This photo belongs in a frame as it shows my dad and all of his siblings in front of the Post Office in Donaghmoyne (County Monaghan). Attached to the Post Office is a house- the house where my great-grandmother grew up and my grandmother spent one of her teenage summers. This entire area includes so much history as the church (now remodeled into a community center) my great-grandparents were married in 1908 sits on the same road.

The group is off to Galway next, my favorite Irish city. Enjoy an Irish Coffee for me, Monaghans!

Leave a Reply

