Next School Year

Before Elijah was born, I joked with John that I should probably sign my teaching contract before I met our son or I would never return to my classroom. John said that was all part of his plan to get me to stay home. ha!

God has different plans.

When Elijah was going through some of his scariest moments, I received my teaching contract in the mail. I opened it and set it aside.

John and I had discussed that a daycare wouldn’t have been able to accommodate some of the medical attention the doctors were originally talking about for our son. Depending on Elijah’s medical needs, my “job” for next year was in limbo.

As with anything else, God was going to make this decision for me.

The week of surgeries was over and we were waiting to see if Elijah would eat and process food normally. We got to feed him on a Thursday, and every day that followed calmed my nerves more and more. On Saturday, I took a deep breath, signed my contract, and dropped it in the mail.

Last week, I was asked to give a witness talk to the seniors during their senior retreat. When I arrived, I slipped in the back and sat at a table looking at all of them while they were engaged with the activity taking place. I couldn’t help but smile. It felt so good to be back with those students. I love those kids!

I don’t know what the future holds or how long God will continue to ask me to teach, but I know it’s where I am supposed to be next year. I’m so thankful for a job that I miss while I’m happier than ever at home with my miracle. God continues to bless me, and I truly think it’s because I continue to listen to Him.

2 thoughts on “Next School Year

Leave a Reply

