Wives’ Tale Gender Reveal

My friend Makenzie suggested I document some old wives’ tales before the big gender reveal. Great idea!

Old Wives Tale: Heart Rate
If the baby’s heart rate is above 140 bpm, it is said that the baby will be a girl. If it is under 140 bpm, then it will be a boy.

Heart rate both times was 160. GIRL!

Old Wives Tale: Cravings
People believe that if you are craving salty foods while pregnant, you can count on having a boy. If you crave sweets, you are having a girl.

I crave salt. Chips and salsa at all times. BOY!

Old Wives Tale: Acne
If you have acne while pregnant, it’s a girl. It’s thought that acne during pregnancy is caused by the extra hormones.

This was something I was concerned about, but I have had no complaints about my skin. BOY!

Old Wives Tale: Soft or Dry Skin

If you have dry skin, it’s a boy. Soft skin, it’s a girl.

I’ve gone through two giant bottles of lotion for my legs. BOY!

Old Wives Tale: Side You Most Rest On
If a pregnant woman prefers to lay on her left side, she’s having a boy. If she prefers resting on her right side, she’s having a girl.

I always sleep on my left side. BOY!

Old Wives Tale: Dad’s Weight Gain
If the dad-to-be gains weight while you are pregnant, it’s a girl. If he doesn’t gain weight, you’re having a boy.

John tells me he’s gaining. GIRL!

According to the “old wives’ tales” of gender reveal, I’m having a boy. John says that’s just another reason he thinks it’s a girl. Ha!

Any final gender guesses. As long as our little babe cooperates, we’ll have an answer next week!

7 thoughts on “Wives’ Tale Gender Reveal

  1. Based on the wives tales, Colin should have been a girl then! His heart rate was 140s. I craved sweets all the time, skin was normal, no additional acne, slept on my right side, and Tony claims he didn’t gain. One other wives tale I heard was if you have a line on your stomach that goes just below your belly button, it’s a girl. Above and below, it’s a boy. This checked out for us.

    I’m on Team Pink, though Colin would be excited for a boy cousin to wrestle with 😀

  2. Zach = girl. I thought he was going to be a girl. I thought Morgan was going to be a boy. I still don’t have mother’s intuition. So take this with a grain of salt- I’m thinking boy.

Leave a Reply

