To Whom Much Is Given…

3355bb400cdf2d0af3538945766a1a09Where have I been all week? Teaching summer Religious Education.

I was a classroom teacher for a 9th-10th grade mix who did not want to spend their beautiful summer days in a church basement. I couldn’t blame them. Thanks to the energy and ideas from the other three teachers, we made almost all of the activities possible outside. From scavenger hunts to skits, we had students sharing the word of God in the sunshine.

We even had the opportunity to bring in two seminarians, and I learned so much from both speakers. The students in general were a bit of challenge since they didn’t see a lot of motivation for attending. Most are there because their parents make them or their upcoming Confirmation requires it. While I was bummed about the attitude of the students, I just kept telling myself to be the optimism in their day.

The bracelet John gave me for Christmas was a great reminder this week. It is inscribed “To Whom Much Is Given, Much Will Be Expected” Luke 12:48. I am so thankful to have a relationship with God, in addition to countless blessings in my life. This verse reminds me that it’s not about me, it’s about Him.

One thought on “To Whom Much Is Given…

  1. great outlook!! i’ve been teaching RE down here, but it is such a downer! i get excited every year, but the kids… ugh. and there isn’t enough time to establish a relationship with them. i see them once a month. they don’t like my jokes :-/

Leave a Reply

