Another 13.1

IMG_0928Another half marathon is behind me. It wasn’t my fastest, but I felt good throughout the entire race. Finishing under two hours and still having the energy to slip on heels for a friend’s wedding in Illinois the rest of the night was a measure of my success.

As for the 13.1 miles, I ran the first five miles with a current student. This was a great distraction from the beginning of the race and all of the nerves that usually exist. Since we talked for the first five miles, I didn’t listen to any music. I IMG_0929can’t remember the last time I ran without music! After mile five, she needed to slow down. I went ahead of her, plugged into my iTunes, and just let my legs carry me. The weather was incredibly humid, so I took Gatorade at every station just to be safe (Memories from Notre Dame’s 90 degree marathon came flooding back). No regrets there, although starting and stopping is tough on anyone.

If you’re looking for a well organized race with plenty of volunteers and water/Gatorade stations, this one is great! It’s hard to be beat sleeping in your own bed the night before a race.

3 thoughts on “Another 13.1

  1. Pingback: 2015 Resolutions | lifeworthsharing

  2. Pingback: 2015 Recap | lifeworthsharing

  3. Pingback: Road Race Registered | lifeworthsharing

Leave a Reply

