God’s Not Dead

A student in my Wednesday night religious education class encouraged me to watch the movie God’s Not Dead. I took his advice over Christmas break, and I’m so glad I listened.

He was the only student who had seen the movie out of the 20+ in the Wednesday night program, so we’re using January to watch and discuss it. Last night’s class included an hour of watching the movie followed by an hour of rich conversation. No student was sneaking a look at their cell phone or checking the clock. That was the engagement I craved for the lesson. The movie quotes Matthew: 10:32-33 and Luke 12:48. We spent time reading scripture and applying it to situations in our lives. I’m excited to know they’ll all come back next session because they want to know how the movie ends.

I warn you that the movie’s acting is extremely over exaggerated, but the plot and questions are worth your time. If you want to borrow it, let me know!

Leave a Reply

