Trotting

Before the start-gun sounded, the announcer said it was -3 degrees with the windchill. I couldn’t feel my toes for the first two miles. I knew I was moving, but it was hard to process how fast when my legs were brittle icicles. Thankfully I had lots of layers on, and it was pretty easy to motivate myself since I knew the streets and the route. After the halfway mark, I finally felt warmed up and finished the race in 40 minutes. The 8k might be my favorite race distance. I just need to find one with better weather conditions to PR.

John ate my plate of pancakes. He earned it after standing in the cold to cheer. I just wanted a steaming shower and hot coffee.

Luckily, we beat the snow, which John is now loving in his 4-wheel drive!IMG_0268IMG_0270

2 thoughts on “Trotting

Leave a Reply

