Cold Weather Anxiety

20140624-152531-55531692.jpgAs the seasons switch and I appreciate every changing orange and red leaf, I get anxious about the weather that follows. Last year’s winter was brutal. I know winters are cold. I know there will be snow. Both of these terrible elements lasted way too long last year. As meteorologist, and people who think they are, predict the upcoming terrible winter, I pray they are wrong.

I told someone recently that if this winter is as bad as last, it will be my final one in Iowa. What’s the point in suffering through a season when there are locations in the world that don’t discourage outdoor activity because it’s dangerously cold outside?

For now, I’m hanging on to every ounce of summer that remains. I spent this afternoon on our deck while I completed my weekend grading under an umbrella. Short breaks were used to surf Expedia for spring break destinations…

3 thoughts on “Cold Weather Anxiety

Leave a Reply

