Coffee

images-6I crave coffee for the comfort.

The smell alone brings a calm to my body that takes me to various locations. Iced caramel lattes with soy milk take me to Arizona, poolside. Chai tea lattes take me to grad school classrooms after a long day of teaching. Pumpkin Spice lattes take me to Notre Dame football weekends. Dunkin Donuts coffee will forever take me to Boston, where we frequented one of Boston’s 300 locations just steps outside of our hotel in the Prudential Center. Salted Carmel lattes bring me Christmas vacation. You get the idea…

Minutes before I leave the house for school each morning, I hit the power button on my Keurig machine. Perfectly brewing just one cup of Starbucks Veranda Blend for my travel mug, I’m set. By the time I get to school, it’s the perfect temperature.

All this being said, I’m facing a sad resolution: Cutting back on coffee. It’s leaving me too jittery. Just one cup. I’ve tried to overcompensate with more water before and after, but it hasn’t worked. I know I’m constantly dehydrated because John reminds me daily. I do know that I’m a million times better than a few years ago, though. Adding this to my low blood pressure and apparently low blood sugar, and it’s obvious coffee would spike these levels and then…crash.

It might sound silly, but I’m disappointed. As for giving it up all together, not happening. It’s almost fall, the season of Pumpkin Spice. I’ll just have to order the tall rather than the venti…

2 thoughts on “Coffee

  1. I hear ya. It is a comfort thing, but I know I can get wired and weird! I also have pretty low blood pressure (Tony asked me if I was alive after I told him what it was one time), never thought of that being part of the problem!

    It’s definitley an excuse to get the fun drinks with more milk than going straight black 😉

Leave a Reply

