Another 20-miler

20140318-201040.jpgSaturday was my final 20-miler. I ran outside during the week, but the temps turned colder again on Saturday and it even snowed. I was back on my treadmill. I was actually fine with this because it’s incredibly difficult to find somewhere to run for 20 miles in a small town. This is even more true when the sidewalks are under water and the streets are so sandy it’s hard to keep traction. I resorted to the familiarity of my basement with the windows open and Netflix cranked. It’d be a lie if I said I wasn’t worried about the race after training in completely controlled temperatures all season.

I’m thrilled to have completed the final 20-miler. In addition to some 16, 17, and 18-miler weekends, the miles are officially in storage for the big day. I ran one minute slower this 20 miles than the last time, but I think that’s an impressive consistency for that many miles. After a big breakfast, I stuck with two GUs during the run for fuel. If you’re looking for a flavor less terrible than the others, these two are my recommendation. I like the gummy chews better, but they are bulky to carry, and I don’t need more baggage for 26.2 miles.

Followed by a day of shopping with my mom, aunts, cousins, and sister-in-law, my legs were spent by Sunday. I’m still trying to decide if school is going to happen the day after the marathon. Sometimes my mind and body don’t agree…

5 thoughts on “Another 20-miler

  1. I totally agree with Ashley- You deserve a day of rest and relaxation! Then when you go back the next day you better totally wear your medal!!

Leave a Reply

