Caffeine

20140227-182615.jpg

“That picture does not caption how awful I feel,” JW.

My daily caffeine intake is pretty limited to one cup of coffee in the morning. My vice has many morning benefits. It’s a good pick-me-up, I love that it warms up my voice before talking in front of students all morning, and I like the taste.

My husband got started drinking coffee through weekend coffee shop dates with me the last few years. However, his caffeine addiction comes from liquids other than black poison. Pre-workout drinks, Rockstars, and Diet Mountain Dews are sometimes all part of one day for him. Recognizing this addiction, he decided to quit cold turkey this week. I haven’t moved out…yet. But I will tell you, I assume this is what it’s like living with someone quitting any “drug”. Mood, headaches, fatigue, aches, sweats…it’s all there. Honestly, it’s scary!

He doesn’t plan to give up caffeine for good, but he knew he needed to decrease how much of it he was consuming in a day. He also wants it to be something that gives him a boost of energy rather than something he continually relies on for everyday tasks. I’m proud of him for recognizing this weakness and rising above. For now, we’re counting down until Saturday when we have our regular coffee date scheduled and he can participate, maybe feeling the effect of the caffeinated beverage for the first time in awhile.

What does your daily caffeine intake look like? What’s your “drug of choice”?

5 thoughts on “Caffeine

  1. I would say that I, too, rely on caffeine a bit too much. I’ve been able to cut down to one caffeinated beverage a day. Taking mega doses of Vitamin D has been helpful in that endeavor. My drug of choice: Diet Coke, but because I am also out for a bargain, I will buy whatever is on sale.

Leave a Reply

