Protein Packed Pumpkin

Since John and I attended Saturday evening Mass, this morning was dedicated to a strong workout. Most of my Sundays are spent working on grad school, but I submitted my paper on Thursday. This leaves just a few more assignments before the end of the semester. Therefore, I allowed myself a Sunday morning of exercise for the body instead of the mind. Stairs, weights, elliptical, a mile cool down and the sauna were all included. I even brought a change of clothes just for the car ride home because I knew the level of intensity would leave me soaked.

John was laughing at how slow I was moving to the car post-workout. I was beat.

I knew just the recovery recipe needed to fuel my body for the day. Pumpkin Protein Shake. I’ve made this recipe a few times, and finally have it just perfect. Low calorie and high in vitamins, potassium, fiber, and protein, this recipe will have you eating pumpkin all year long.20121202-153737.jpg

  • 1 banana
  • 1/2 can of pumpkin puree
  • 1 scoop protein powder
  • Milk (soy) for some liquid
  • Pumpkin pie spice

Combine milk with protein powder and mix in blender. Protein powder can be grainy if it doesn’t get completely mixed. This will do the trick! Next, add half can of pumpkin puree. Mix. Cut the banana in pieces and add to the blender. Mix again. Finally, add a few pinches of pumpkin pie spice and mix a final time. The mixture produces a consistency like Cool Whip topping with a pumpkin flavor. It’s light, yet filling.

Since these ingredients don’t create a very cold shake, you can add ice to the blending mix. I chose to mix it up and set it in the freezer while I showered and got ready for the day. ┬áIt was a perfect temp when I returned.

Leave a Reply

